Practicing Reflexology in Washington State
Effective July 1, 2013, there are two methods to practice reflexology legally in Washington State:
Certified Reflexologist (CR)
Licensed Massage Therapist (LMT). An LMT may offer reflexology services, but cannot use the title Certified Reflexologist.
How to become a Certified Reflexologist
Be at least 18 years old.
Complete reflexology education from an approved school of at least 200 hours, which includes the skills as listed in WAC 246-831-040.
Pass the written portion of the ARCB Exam. Tests are conducted at locations across the county and are usually held in Seattle each November and in Portland, OR each May. Check the ARCB website for specifics. It is not required to complete the full ARCB certificate process (i.e. you do not need to complete the hands-on portion, documented hours or pay annual membership with the ARCB).
Pass the online Washington State Reflexology Jurisprudence Examination.
Complete four hours of approved HIV/AIDS education and training.
Apply online at the WA Dept of Health.
State issued Certificates must be on display in your place of business.
WA state issued RF# must be printed on all advertising, including business cards, websites and brochures.
Reflexologist Certificates must be renewed every year, due on your birthday.
There is no requirement for continuing education for Certified Reflexologists.
WA State Law Defines reflexology as:
"Reflexology" means a health care service that is limited to applying alternating pressure with thumb and finger techniques to reflexive areas of the lower one-third of the extremities, feet, hands, and outer ears based on reflex maps. Reflexology does not include the diagnosis of or treatment for specific diseases, or joint manipulations.